Baby flannel quilt

Standard

Still waiting for news of baby’s arrival (from friends in Bonnie Scotland) but in the meantime I set to putting some flannel squares together to make a nice snuggly quilt for bub. I appliqued some stars on to the squares and then gave to Natalie at the Quilting Bug who echoed the star design in her quilting. Hopefully mum, dad and baby will enjoy!

2012-11-27 13.54.43

Baby flannel quilt with stars

Baby flannel quilt with stars

Thought you might like to see a couple of other that came back at the same time. The first one is my friend Carol’s who made a large version of this (not shown) and a small baby one which she is about to send off as a present overseas. I think you will agree it is very pretty (and bonus knowing that it is made up from the left-overs of a bigger quilt – including the batting)!

2012-11-24 14.37.02

Carrie’s been at it again too! Again this one is going overseas with get well wishes for her mother in law. I think this quilt would cheer up anyone’s Christmas.

2012-11-24 14.35.57

Here are some proteas I often pass in a friend’s front garden – I just couldn’t resist their beautiful colours and I hope it brings a touch of sunshine to those going into the depths of winter!!

2012-11-24 17.15.21
2012-11-24 17.14.51

7 responses »

    • Hi Jill, thanks for the comment. Natalie is my friend who lives on the other side of Melbourne and has started her own quilting business called the quilting bug which I have linked to in the post. A few of my friends have started using her services and just means we’re flying through some of those UFOs!

      • Yes that’s pretty much it, although I did do a pieced backing with all my left over flannel. Natalie does such a great job for such a reasonable price and so far a week’s turnaround which is pretty good as another place was saying 3 months!! Not sure if the postage would make it worthwhile for you, have you looked locally at all?

Leave a comment