Jelly roll tube tutorial

Standard

I came across a great tutorial the other day on youtube by Misouri Quilters and thought I would give it a whirl as I have had a Kaffe Fassett jelly roll sitting there looking at me for far too long! The thing I like about this method is that you only have to sew two long seams and then because of the way you cut it, you have a variety of different effects you can create.

First of all you take two strips from your jelly roll and then sew them together, length ways (right sides facing).

two jelly roll strips

two jelly roll strips


Sew them together

Sew them together


Make sure you iron the seam flat (towards the darker fabric).

Now you need another piece of fabric that is the same width of the two jelly roll pieces sewn together ie. 4.5″ x width of bolt. I had some batik fabrics left over from another project and so decided to try that out.

4.5" x width of bolt strip

4.5″ x width of bolt strip


Now for the tube part:

Lay your 4.5″ strip of fabric on top of the other two strips (right sides facing)

Lay them on top of each other

Lay them on top of each other


Then sew a quarter inch seam down both lengths of the fabric – thus creating your tube!

Quarter inch seam down both sides

Quarter inch seam down both sides

Now you need a large square ruler (I used a 12.5″) with a 45 deg angle marked on it and you need to place the line of the 45 deg angle on top of your seam line as in the picture below:

45 deg line is on top of seam line

45 deg line is on top of seam line

Make your cut
2013-04-22 18.21.38

Keeping the edge of your ruler against the edge of the fabric you just slide it down so that the 45 deg angle line is sitting on top of the other seam line:
2013-04-22 18.22.55

Make your cut and then slide back to the other seam line:
2013-04-22 18.24.13

Keep going in this way until you get to the other end.

Now for the fun part. Open up and iron your resulting squares flat and then ….. time to play!
2013-04-22 18.44.30

2013-04-22 18.48.03

28 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’m fairly new to quilting and always thought it would be such a mission making blocks with the same size triangles because I don’t always sew in perfectly straight lines. Thanks to your input I have now changed my opinion and will definitely try this.

  2. Ah! How timely. I just went to my quilt guild and heard a lecture about rulers. They have this handy dandy ruler that looks like 2 mountains to make these cuts earlier. I JUST went to the quilt store last night to pick up my background fabric to go with the jelly roll I have. I was a little hesitant to get started because I wasn’t exactly sure how to make the tube. TA DA. Here you come with the exact tutorial I needed. πŸ˜€

    Thanks so much.

    I have missed your posts. Hopefully the weather is better where you are, not so hot.

    Cheers.
    ~ Carol

  3. Glad to have you back posting, and this one is fantastic. You’re sure on your way to more great tutorials ahead. I think a beginner like me will have fun with this. Beautiful colors and fabrics you chose. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  4. That looks awesome! I love how you can get such great effects from a fairly straightforward process when you know how – thank you so much for sharing this I will have to try this real soon πŸ™‚ Helen

Leave a Reply

