Zippity doo dah (facing my fears)!

Standard

I wrote last week about my struggles to get back into the creative swing of things and received some lovely uplifting responses – thank you one and all!

I thought it would be a good idea to try something new and also something I have had a slightly irrational fear over….. yes, the dreaded zip! I don’t think I’m alone in this avoidance of all things zippy from what I was reading on the net and hearing from friends so I took courage in both hands and went in search of a nice easy tutorial.

I found what I was looking for here at the lovely Sew Delicious blog. Ros is the very talented author of the blog and her pictures and instructions were so clear, I didn’t even feel scared!!

If you haven’t been there already, I can seriously recommend her blog.

Well anyway this is what I came up with first of all:

small zip pouch

small zip pouch

I really like the fabric and kept wondering what I should do with it as it is quite a heavy duty cotton. I kept thinking bags of some sort but I didn’t have any large pieces so anyway I got quite into the swing of things and made a few more.

slightly larger zip pouch

slightly larger zip pouch

I thought this would make a nice girly penci case and although my German is somewhat rusty I believe it says: “The World’s lovliest countries”

pencil case - boy fabric

pencil case – boy fabric

yes I know I shouldn’t say ‘boy’ and ‘girl’ fabric but I do think one is more masculine than the other.

zip pouches en mass

zip pouches en mass

As you can see, once I started I just wanted to keep going. Now I have to go and buy some more zips!

29 responses »

    • Thank you. I was quite intrigued by that fabric as apart from the German words, it also says November Books in really small writing on it. Makes me wonder if it was made for a specific purpose.

  1. Yay! You broke throu the dreaded Curse of the Blank Canvas! And smashing results, too. I’m feeling pretty stuck myself lately. Too cold to work in the studio for another few weeks, yet my writers muse seems to have gone on spring break already.

  2. Love that nautical semaphore fabric. Where did you find it?

    Something else you might like to try is using 100% curtain fabric for your zippy pouches. I’ve had good results with that. It’s a nice weight for a pouch (holds its shape well) and there are some fun prints.

    • Thanks, yes I rather like it too. I’ve still got it in navy blue, light blue and pink but they are not large pieces. The supplier was Victorian Textiles but unfortunately it didn’t have any information on the selvedge. Curtain fabric sounds like a good option for this kind of project.

  3. I have the same zipper fear. I’ve done them but always have a struggle. I’ll check out the site you mentioned. Maybe I should do what you did and keep making things with them till I’m not scared anymore. Thanks.

    • Its funny how we can get ourselves in a bit of a stew about things isn’t it? Although it was a project for beginners, I feel like it has broken me in a bit and I won’t have quite such a hang-up about it in future projects (thats the theory anyway)! Let me know if you have a go at one, i’d love to see the result.

    • Thank you girlfriend!! Seems like i’m all go or at a complete standstill. The heat here is set to go on for another 9 days so I could be completely batty by the end of it! Thanks for your encouragement 🙂

  4. They look fantastic and I LOVE the fabrics you’ve used! Especially the ‘World’s Loveliest Countries’ -so cute! Thanks so much for linking and using my tutorial, it’s always lovely seeing what people make and even just knowing that people use my tutorials!!

    • So glad you approve Ros and I know a lot of work goes into making a tutorial so it was much appreciated. I’ll be sure to look at some of your other ones too and I definitely want to make a lined pouch some time soon!

  5. Well done for overcoming your zip-a-phobia!! I used to think zips were scary, until I actually put one in something, and was surprised that it wasn’t tooooo hard at all!
    These are super cute, and I love the fabrics you used.

  6. I haven’t visited in a while, but you never disappoint! Excellent zip pouches! I have an irrational fear of zippers too, even though I have done several. Oh well, maybe I need to do some pouches. Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

