Having fun with my Baby!

Standard
Baby Go!

Baby Go!

Don’t you just love getting a new toy to play with? I do and its not even Christmas yet! Anyway here it is – the Go Baby fabric cutter by Accuquilt.

There is a bigger version too but this one is just fine for my needs. I wanted to test out how quickly I could put a small quilt top together so this is what happened:

Cutting out the pieces

Cutting out the pieces

I have used a small tumbler die for this quilt (3.5″) and being me, I started cutting at 10pm and cut out 154 tumbler shapes – this took me exactly 1 hour.

2012-12-09 15.53.24

Then I laid them all out on the floor to get the colour combination right and stacked them all in their rows – ready for sewing.
2012-12-09 15.53.46

2012-12-09 15.54.26

After sewing all the tumblers together into their rows – I ironed the seams (alternating them to the left on one row and then to the right on the next etc.)
2012-12-10 21.20.11

Then I sewed the rows together (this is where those little labels come in handy).

A bit more ironing and then I put a 3.5″ border on and ……..

One finished quilt top!

One finished quilt top!

This really was a whizz to put together – even though I was doing an hour here and there – It still only took me a couple of days so really good if you had a cot quilt or lap quilt you wanted to put together quickly for a present.

I didn’t have any real plans for this quilt and then its purpose became clear but I’ll tell you about that later.

28 responses »

    • Yes it is a bit of an outlay especially if you’re not going to use it much. I know that some quilt shops will allow customers to use their fabric cutter for a small fee or you can buy ready cut out shapes like hexagons and simply sew them together.

  1. What talent! Keep us posted. Quilting and crafts run deep in my family (it just skipped me for some reason). My Grandmother and Mother were magnificent with a needle. They always hand quilted every piece they made. I remember seeing the quilting racks that were “rolled” up to the ceiling at my Grannie’s home. Nothing makes me feel safer than recalling those days when she, and others were sitting around that quilt, making their magic!

  2. So cool. I linked to your Etsy site by clicking on your link but I noticed your Etsy site doesn’t have a link back to WordPress. Is there no capability for that? I like your Etsy site also.

    • That’s really kind of you – thank you. I have to admit, I set up the Etsy in a bit of a hurry and I know I have to do some work on it, especially some of the photos which I’m not too happy about. Not sure how I link back to WordPress – it seemed to take forever to work out how to get the Etsy button on my blog lol! However, you have encouraged me so thanks again 🙂

  3. I hate cutting out fabric due to wobbly scissor cutting technique and also I love looking at textiles in big big pieces. Having a cutting machine could almost tempt me into trying quilting….

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections,
    I feel you may find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

