Origami flowers

Standard

This has to be one of the most successful first attempts I’ve ever had with learning a new craft! and I suppose what I mean by that is, the finished object actually resembled what I was aiming for – that doesn’t happen very often for me.


I was so impressed with the result that I just had to share it and have a go at my very first tutorial…. so here goes and I hope you like it.

You will need a sheet of decorative paper such as scrapbooking paper which is easy to fold and holds its shape well.

Cut 5 x 4″ squares

Take one 4″ square

Fold it diagonally


Then fold each outer point up to the middle point to get this shape

Fold one side out

and then the other side


Pick one side up to a point

Squash the crease down to open it up


and then the same to the other side

Fold down the two triangles so you are left with this shape


Fold the outer triangle in to the centre

and the same to the other side


Glue the two outer triangles

and curl it round sticking both sides together…..Now make 4 more like this.

Gently squash each petal down


Glue down each length


Glue them together, one at a time

and you should end up with this


You will then need: one piece of floristry wire, one header pin and a suitable bead


Run the floristry wire through the centre and the header pin through the bead and into the top of the flower. (if it is too loose, a drop of hot glue under the bead should hold it in).

Finally – done and hopefully looks something like this!


Then its time to get carried away and make a whole bunch!

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial and I would love to see your versions – I’m thinking they will make nice Christmas decorations. Good luck!

12 responses »

  1. A great tutorial. You make it look so easy but I am sure I will get stuck at some point. I will give it a go as the finished product certainly looks great. Thanks for the tutorial.

  2. Pingback: origami – me? orumad? « Nice piece of work

    • Congratulations Wilma on your nomination and thank you so much for nominating my blog, I am extremely honored. However I have already received the Liebster Award a couple of weeks ago so will respectfully decline on this occasion. I look forward to visiting you again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

